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MEMPHIS ANIMAL SERVICES SERVES AS HOST AGENCY FOR
STATE MANDATED TRAINING

Memphis, Tenn. - On January 19-20, 2013, Memphis Animal Services (MAS) will
serve as host agency for West Tennessee for the Pre-Euthanasia Certification
Training for persons employed by a certified animal control agency. To that end,
MAS will be closed to the public on Saturday & Sunday, January 19-20, 2013.

This training is mandated and approved by the State of Tennessee Department of
Health Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (Chapter 1730-04) and conducted by
the Animal Control Association of Tennessee (ACAT). The 2-day training session is
conducted throughout the state of Tennessee for persons employed by a certified
animal control agency on how to euthanize non-livestock animals humanely. ACAT
held the same training on November 10-11, 2012 at McKamey Animal Center in
Chattanooga, Tennessee.

Who needs to be certified?

In Tennessee, you must be a Certified Animal Euthanasia Technician in order to
legally euthanize non-livestock animals. The Tennessee Board of Veterinary
Examiners defines a Certified Animal Euthanasia Technician (C.A.E.T.) as a person
employed by a certified animal control agency who is authorized by the Board of
Veterinary Medical Examiners (BVME) to humanely euthanize non-livestock
animals by administering drugs referred to in Rules 1730-04-.13 and 1730-05-.14
which have been approved by the BVME for the euthanasia and pre-euthanasia

of non-livestock animals in a certified animal control agency. Please

visit www.state.tn.us/sos/rules/1730/1730.htm to read the rules and regulations in
further detail regarding C.A.C.A's and C.A.E.T.'s.

What is Animal Control Association of Tennessee (ACAT)?

ACAT was originally organized in 1989. The purpose of this association is to
improve the methods and standards of the animal control profession on a statewide
basis, to inform the public of the true nature and importance of the work performed
by animal control organizations, to cooperate with other public agencies dealing in
animal control, and to promote justice and equity in the enforcement of animal
control laws. Please visit their website at www.tnanimalcontrol.org for more details
on the association.
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Will MAS offer off-site adoption events, since the facility will be closed on
Saturday?

Yes. MAS continues to feature a pet for adoption on WREG-TV Channel 3. MAS also
works aggressively with rescue groups to locate animals loving forever

homes. Additionally, MAS will offer the Yappy Hour Adoption rate of $40 per dog
and 2-for-1 cat adoption during the entire month of January 2013.

Will MAS extend the holding period for animals that have expired dates on
January 19 & 20?

Yes, MAS will extend the holding period for all animals in the facility for one
additional business day.

Will any animals be euthanized during the training session?

Rule 1730-05-.03(2)(d) reads in part that the course on euthanasia “...must include
the performance of proper euthanasia of an animal by each student.”

Without actually performing euthanasia there is no way to determine if a student
should be qualified to perform this procedure without an instructor or veterinarian
present. The State of Tennessee is trying to raise the quality of care given to animals
that must be euthanized across the state.
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