Image of City Seal
City of Memphis
Boards, Commissions
and Agencies

125 N. Main St., Suite 700
Memphis, TN 38103


Memphis & Shelby County Air Pollution Control Board

Selection Process:
(8) members jointly appointed by City of Memphis and Shelby County Mayors and confirmed by both the City Council and the County Commission.
The eight (8) members shall consist of the following:
One professional engineer knowledgeable in the field of air pollution control, one physician licensed to practice in Tennessee, one attorney licensed to practice law in the state, one member of academia, a representative of industry at-large, and such other citizen members as may be appointed, except that industry may have no more than two (2) representatives.
(1) member appointed by the Executive Committee of the Memphis Area Associations of Governments.

9 Member Board

Function & Authority:
To grant, deny, or revoke variance applications from the air pollution control code.

Terms Of Members:
4 Year Term