Skip to Content Skip to Content

Comptroller

CONTACT

Dywuana Morris , CPA
Comptroller
Phone: 636-6682
Fax: 636-6191

Dywuana Morris was appointed as City Comptroller in March 2020 and has more than 20 years of progressive finance and accounting experience, including general ledger accounting, financial reporting and analysis, internal controls design and maintenance, budgeting, and internal and external auditing.  She is recognized by the State of Tennessee as a Certified Public Accountant and holds both a Bachelor of Business Administration in Accounting from the University of Memphis and a Master of Business Administration in Management from Middle Tennessee State University.  

In her own words, “I am extremely excited to join the City of Memphis. It is my intent to continue the great legacy established by my predecessors.”


Financial Accounting seeks to ensure the integrity of the City’s financial information by preparing and maintaining accurate accounting records, providing timely and accurate financial reports to City Division’s management and staff, and preparing the Comprehensive Annual Financial Report (CAFR) in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles and legal requirements. 

Cash Management: Sandra.Broadnax@memphistn.gov
General Fund and Special Revenue Funds: Candice.Wright@memphistn.gov
Debt and Investment Funds: Starr.Nichols@memphistn.gov

Email: Accounting@memphistn.gov 
Receipt confirmations: AccountsReceivable@memphistn.gov

Accounts Payable seeks to ensure the timely disbursement of payments to vendors, contractors and others in compliance with established legal and contractual terms. Accounts Payable processes all check requests and contract payment requests initiated by the City divisions, ensures that supporting documentation and approvals for payments are in compliance with established procedures, generates and mails checks, processes travel advances and expense reports, and issues 1099-MISC forms to applicable providers of services as required by IRS regulations.

Email: apsolutions@memphistn.gov or (901) 636-7026

Payroll seeks to ensure the accurate processing of all disbursements for active and retired employees in accordance with established procedures. Processing includes the coordination of system input data, system reconciliation and maintenance, processing of garnishments, retirement benefit calculations and the system set up of new retirees; mailing of retiree checks; distribution of reports and checks to divisions; issuing of manual checks; W-4 changes and the issuing of W-2 and 1099-R forms as required by IRS regulations.

Contact: 
Email: Payroll@memphistn.gov  (all inquiries)

Active Employee Payroll
Phone: Julianne Mabry (901) 636-6101 or Yolanda Alexander (901) 636-6165

Retiree Pension Payroll
Cynthia Thomas (901) 636-6144

Records Management seeks to ensure that all documents related to Finance areas of responsibility are retained in a manner to provide timely retrieval for research requests. All documents retained by Finance are kept for the proper retention periods. Agendas and minutes of Council meetings are prepared and retained, and ordinances are published in accordance with legal requirements.

Email: Valerie.Snipes@Memphistn.gov  or Valerie Snipes (901) 636-6223

Contract Inquiries, Vital Records Storage and A/P Inquiries:
Anterika Williams    Anterika.Willaims@MemphisTn.gov  or (901) 636-6169
Tasha Scullark        Tasha.Scullark@Memphistn.gov   or (901) 636-6164 

Council Records Inquiries:
Chynika Anderson – Chynika.Anderson@Memphistn.gov or (901) 636-6140
Terral Lawson- Terral.Lawson@Memphistn.gov or (901) 636-6792